Soniah Kamal

Writer. Editor. Speaker.

Qanta Ahmed’s Memoir: In the Land of Invisible Women: A Female Doctor’s Journey in the Saudi Kingdom

Leave a comment

A while back Shaun Randol invited me to contribute to ‘The Mantle’.  I am so pleased to  finally be doing that.  Here is my review for ‘The Mantle’ of Qanta Ahmed’s memoir ‘In the Land of Invisible Women: A Female Doctor’s Journey in the Saudi Kingdom.’

“The U.S. cover of Qanta Ahmed’s memoir In the Land of Invisible Women features a woman’s head shrouded in a black headdress against minarets and skies. I can’t help but wonder, since the subtitle is A Female Doctor’s Journey in the Saudi Kingdom, whether it might have made more sense for the cover to show a woman with a stethoscope against a Saudi hospital, or an operating room; that is, a cover that better reflected the memoir’s subtitle, rather than the usual clichéd woman in a veil. Because I wanted to read something other than an exposé on the subjugation of women in Saudi Arabia, it was with some reluctance that I took a chance on the book.
My chance proved to be illuminating, if not entirely satisfactory.read rest here

Leave a comment